Skip to main content

View Post [edit]

Poster: PaulForrest Date: Mar 1, 2007 10:18am
Forum: forums Subject: Re: Complaint : Important, historical files deleted!

I apologize, I have started to understand more of the history of this collection (it started way before my time). There is an important correction to a previous post: the Television Archive is a separate not-for-profit from the Internet Archive.

I now understand that these materials were available, in streaming form, from October 11, 2001 (when it was launched at the First Amendment Center in Washington DC) for a couple of years. Unfortunately a datacenter move brought these down. The Internet Archive has been working, pro-bono (meaning free), to bring these back up in an appropriate way. When we can do a reasonable job of this, we will let everyone know. Until then, please be patient with us.

In the mean time, we hope the BBC is ok with our allowing some form of distribution of this key program. In which case we will do this immediately. Fingers crossed on that front.

Paul Hickman
Office Manager This post was modified by PaulForrest on 2007-03-01 18:18:32

Reply [edit]

Poster: the ratt Date: Mar 1, 2007 10:31am
Forum: forums Subject: Re: Complaint : Important, historical files deleted!

"a datacenter move brought these down"

Please explain. Did the BBC ask you to take them down or was it a technical error? I don't want to accuse you of censorship if that is not the case, so please clarify. If there's anything the community at large can do to help you bring the files back up, please let us know.

Reply [edit]

Poster: PaulForrest Date: Mar 1, 2007 11:03am
Forum: forums Subject: Re: Complaint : Important, historical files deleted!

The Datacenter move was a technical error. We moved many many servers from one place to another physically, and it made us a bit wonky. It seems we are still catching all the issues from this.

Reply [edit]

Poster: LapDog Date: Mar 1, 2007 12:37pm
Forum: forums Subject: Re: Complaint : Important, historical files deleted!

Sorry Paul, I don't understand.

The BBC file in question was available from this link: http://ia311517.us.archive.org/2/items/bbc200109111654-1736/V08591-16.mpg

When I try to access it now, I clearly get a "Forbidden" error:
"You don't have permission to access /2/items/bbc200109111654-1736/V08591-16.mpg on this server."

Browsing the http://ia311517.us.archive.org/2/items/ folder clearly shows the "bbc200109111654-1736" sub-folder as being hidden, or missing.

Our firewall logs from Tuesday, when I successfully downloaded the file, also show that ia311517.us.archive.org resolved to IP address 208.70.29.221. Today, it still resolves to that very same IP address. So the idea that the server hosting these files moved to another data center is not correct.

I strongly suspect that the files were either physically removed from your servers, or more likely, they were hidden from anonymous users through changes in permissions.

Paul, I do not buy this reasoning. Are you sure what you're saying is accurate?



Reply [edit]

Poster: PaulForrest Date: Mar 1, 2007 2:56pm
Forum: forums Subject: Re: Complaint : Important, historical files deleted!

OK, to be clear, I am the Office Manager for the organization, not an engineer. We have been moving servers around for a bit now, making things wonky. We have an incredible amount of data. Really, we have a lot-think petabytes. I will repeat the refrain of previous responses that we are a small non-profit, and we're doing the best we can.

You are a tough crowd, and very thorough (and sometimes mean). I would like to remind you that we are doing the best we can to deal with this. I'm responding to you all so that you know that we are taking you seriously. I don't have any fun news to disseminate. I do, however, have a large backlog of things I need to do. I will let y'all know when I got something juicy. Or I will delegate so that someone else gets to post.

So. To recap, I am not an engineer. I am not a copyright lawyer. We are not censoring. We are a small non-profit with limited resources and limited staff. I'll do the best I can to keep you all appraised on the situation. I am, however, needing to get some of the other work on my plate done today and tomorrow. When I have something, I'll let you know, or delegate to someone to do the same.

Reply [edit]

Poster: adisonedu Date: Sep 23, 2007 2:35pm
Forum: forums Subject: Re: Complaint : Important, historical files deleted!

Can you let us in on a secret what servers you recomend and if you suggest we buy or rent. We have two projects going right now. One at: http://www.kids4kids.biz and another at where I work: http://www.adison.edu

We need to look into servers in october and are looking for advice on what to get. Thanks for your time

Preston

Reply [edit]

Poster: RssProtocol Date: Oct 6, 2007 10:01pm
Forum: forums Subject: Re: Complaint : Important, historical files deleted!

We use Server Beach and get our servers there. We are soing an rss search engine and needed some quad servers with the max on ram. The are running us $400 per month which seems reasonable to me.

Oscar Davis
http://www.rssprotocol.com
DSP Administrator
ceonit@frii.com